Foul pop up caught by Arenado yesterday
Moderators: STLtoday Forum Moderators, Cards Talk Moderators
Foul pop up caught by Arenado yesterday
This was a tremendous play which obviously helped the Cardinals win the game. He risked serious injury to make the play and even remained in the game.
My beef is with the ruling which made it automatic that the Arizona baserunners on 1st and 2nd advanced one base. The rule is this:
A fielder, after catching a fly ball, falls into dead-ball territory [ 5.06(b)(3)(C) ]. In this scenario, a fielder having made a legal catch while in live-ball territory, is carried into dead-ball territory, where he then falls, or falls over a fence or railing into dead-ball territory. The ball is dead and all base runners advance one base. However, the catch is good and the out stands, so long as the catch was made before the player stepped or fell into dead-ball territory.
Important: Normally, we'd include here a note about "catch-and-carry." However, in 2016, Major League Baseball amended the rule, such that catch-and-carry no longer exists. Any live ball that is carried into dead ball territory is now considered a dead ball and runners advance one base. Rule 5.06(b)(3)(C) Comment reads: "If a fielder, after having made a legal catch, should step or fall into any out-of-play area, the ball is dead and each runner shall advance one base, without liability to be put out, from his last legally touched base at the time the fielder entered such out-of-play area."
IMO this rule should be amended again, to benefit the fielder who makes the catch, that if said fielder is able to make a throw from the stands which prevents the runners from advancing, it should be allowable. Seems unfair to me, that the fielder making a spectacular play as Arenado did yesterday, is somewhat penalized by the runners advancing by rule. They should have to tag up and advance at their own risk, IMO. Now, if the fielder who catches the ball cannot return the ball into the field of play due to injury or restricted by objects in the stands or a fan, then one base only should be awarded to the baserunners.
My beef is with the ruling which made it automatic that the Arizona baserunners on 1st and 2nd advanced one base. The rule is this:
A fielder, after catching a fly ball, falls into dead-ball territory [ 5.06(b)(3)(C) ]. In this scenario, a fielder having made a legal catch while in live-ball territory, is carried into dead-ball territory, where he then falls, or falls over a fence or railing into dead-ball territory. The ball is dead and all base runners advance one base. However, the catch is good and the out stands, so long as the catch was made before the player stepped or fell into dead-ball territory.
Important: Normally, we'd include here a note about "catch-and-carry." However, in 2016, Major League Baseball amended the rule, such that catch-and-carry no longer exists. Any live ball that is carried into dead ball territory is now considered a dead ball and runners advance one base. Rule 5.06(b)(3)(C) Comment reads: "If a fielder, after having made a legal catch, should step or fall into any out-of-play area, the ball is dead and each runner shall advance one base, without liability to be put out, from his last legally touched base at the time the fielder entered such out-of-play area."
IMO this rule should be amended again, to benefit the fielder who makes the catch, that if said fielder is able to make a throw from the stands which prevents the runners from advancing, it should be allowable. Seems unfair to me, that the fielder making a spectacular play as Arenado did yesterday, is somewhat penalized by the runners advancing by rule. They should have to tag up and advance at their own risk, IMO. Now, if the fielder who catches the ball cannot return the ball into the field of play due to injury or restricted by objects in the stands or a fan, then one base only should be awarded to the baserunners.
-
- Forum User
- Posts: 11997
- Joined: 11 Aug 2023 16:20 pm
Re: Foul pop up caught by Arenado yesterday
Let’s look at it another way. Let’s say the rule says after the catch dead ball period. Then the runners beef would be- hey we could have tagged up? I see their side.12xu wrote: ↑26 May 2025 08:25 am This was a tremendous play which obviously helped the Cardinals win the game. He risked serious injury to make the play and even remained in the game.
My beef is with the ruling which made it automatic that the Arizona baserunners on 1st and 2nd advanced one base. The rule is this:
A fielder, after catching a fly ball, falls into dead-ball territory [ 5.06(b)(3)(C) ]. In this scenario, a fielder having made a legal catch while in live-ball territory, is carried into dead-ball territory, where he then falls, or falls over a fence or railing into dead-ball territory. The ball is dead and all base runners advance one base. However, the catch is good and the out stands, so long as the catch was made before the player stepped or fell into dead-ball territory.
Important: Normally, we'd include here a note about "catch-and-carry." However, in 2016, Major League Baseball amended the rule, such that catch-and-carry no longer exists. Any live ball that is carried into dead ball territory is now considered a dead ball and runners advance one base. Rule 5.06(b)(3)(C) Comment reads: "If a fielder, after having made a legal catch, should step or fall into any out-of-play area, the ball is dead and each runner shall advance one base, without liability to be put out, from his last legally touched base at the time the fielder entered such out-of-play area."
IMO this rule should be amended again, to benefit the fielder who makes the catch, that if said fielder is able to make a throw from the stands which prevents the runners from advancing, it should be allowable. Seems unfair to me, that the fielder making a spectacular play as Arenado did yesterday, is somewhat penalized by the runners advancing by rule. They should have to tag up and advance at their own risk, IMO. Now, if the fielder who catches the ball cannot return the ball into the field of play due to injury or restricted by objects in the stands or a fan, then one base only should be awarded to the baserunners.
Also, if allowed to make a play from the dead ball area, I think injury would become a factor.
I see both sides so far.
Re: Foul pop up caught by Arenado yesterday
I prefer the Savannah Banana Rules: Foul balls caught by fans are outs.
Re: Foul pop up caught by Arenado yesterday
The logic behind this rule is very similar to that of the infield fly rule.sikeston bulldog2 wrote: ↑26 May 2025 08:30 amLet’s look at it another way. Let’s say the rule says after the catch dead ball period. Then the runners beef would be- hey we could have tagged up? I see their side.12xu wrote: ↑26 May 2025 08:25 am This was a tremendous play which obviously helped the Cardinals win the game. He risked serious injury to make the play and even remained in the game.
My beef is with the ruling which made it automatic that the Arizona baserunners on 1st and 2nd advanced one base. The rule is this:
A fielder, after catching a fly ball, falls into dead-ball territory [ 5.06(b)(3)(C) ]. In this scenario, a fielder having made a legal catch while in live-ball territory, is carried into dead-ball territory, where he then falls, or falls over a fence or railing into dead-ball territory. The ball is dead and all base runners advance one base. However, the catch is good and the out stands, so long as the catch was made before the player stepped or fell into dead-ball territory.
Important: Normally, we'd include here a note about "catch-and-carry." However, in 2016, Major League Baseball amended the rule, such that catch-and-carry no longer exists. Any live ball that is carried into dead ball territory is now considered a dead ball and runners advance one base. Rule 5.06(b)(3)(C) Comment reads: "If a fielder, after having made a legal catch, should step or fall into any out-of-play area, the ball is dead and each runner shall advance one base, without liability to be put out, from his last legally touched base at the time the fielder entered such out-of-play area."
IMO this rule should be amended again, to benefit the fielder who makes the catch, that if said fielder is able to make a throw from the stands which prevents the runners from advancing, it should be allowable. Seems unfair to me, that the fielder making a spectacular play as Arenado did yesterday, is somewhat penalized by the runners advancing by rule. They should have to tag up and advance at their own risk, IMO. Now, if the fielder who catches the ball cannot return the ball into the field of play due to injury or restricted by objects in the stands or a fan, then one base only should be awarded to the baserunners.
Also, if allowed to make a play from the dead ball area, I think injury would become a factor.
I see both sides so far.
It prevents a defensive player from intentionally creating a scenario which could unfairly disadvantage a base runner.
Re: Foul pop up caught by Arenado yesterday
Or make a rule for the screen safety barrier that says as long as you stay on the field side you’re live even if it flexes into the seats
Re: Foul pop up caught by Arenado yesterday
No need to change the rule. It is a good one.
Re: Foul pop up caught by Arenado yesterday
Thanks for posting that!12xu wrote: ↑26 May 2025 08:25 am This was a tremendous play which obviously helped the Cardinals win the game. He risked serious injury to make the play and even remained in the game.
My beef is with the ruling which made it automatic that the Arizona baserunners on 1st and 2nd advanced one base. The rule is this:
A fielder, after catching a fly ball, falls into dead-ball territory [ 5.06(b)(3)(C) ]. In this scenario, a fielder having made a legal catch while in live-ball territory, is carried into dead-ball territory, where he then falls, or falls over a fence or railing into dead-ball territory. The ball is dead and all base runners advance one base. However, the catch is good and the out stands, so long as the catch was made before the player stepped or fell into dead-ball territory.
Important: Normally, we'd include here a note about "catch-and-carry." However, in 2016, Major League Baseball amended the rule, such that catch-and-carry no longer exists. Any live ball that is carried into dead ball territory is now considered a dead ball and runners advance one base. Rule 5.06(b)(3)(C) Comment reads: "If a fielder, after having made a legal catch, should step or fall into any out-of-play area, the ball is dead and each runner shall advance one base, without liability to be put out, from his last legally touched base at the time the fielder entered such out-of-play area."
IMO this rule should be amended again, to benefit the fielder who makes the catch, that if said fielder is able to make a throw from the stands which prevents the runners from advancing, it should be allowable. Seems unfair to me, that the fielder making a spectacular play as Arenado did yesterday, is somewhat penalized by the runners advancing by rule. They should have to tag up and advance at their own risk, IMO. Now, if the fielder who catches the ball cannot return the ball into the field of play due to injury or restricted by objects in the stands or a fan, then one base only should be awarded to the baserunners.
Have to admit it was confusing yesterday.
-
- Forum User
- Posts: 3800
- Joined: 05 May 2020 14:17 pm
Re: Foul pop up caught by Arenado yesterday
My beef was leaving him in the game. He was on the ground for several minutes so I didn't watch him the entire time, but I'm fairly certain Nado did NOT take a couple test throws after he popped back up and claimed to be alright. Both tying and winning runs were less than 90 ft from Nado.
Just think if a grounder had been hit to him, he coils in preparation to throw and as soon as he tries to unload, his whole back spasms or something and he either drops or air mails the ball. That could have been the game.
On a less serious note, I sure hope this kid has already graduated high school. I fear the memes shall be relentless.

Just think if a grounder had been hit to him, he coils in preparation to throw and as soon as he tries to unload, his whole back spasms or something and he either drops or air mails the ball. That could have been the game.
On a less serious note, I sure hope this kid has already graduated high school. I fear the memes shall be relentless.

-
- Forum User
- Posts: 4949
- Joined: 20 Dec 2020 10:49 am
Re: Foul pop up caught by Arenado yesterday
Yeah, imagine a situation where there's a runner on third and chance for walk off sac fly. Fly ball to left field, I am catching it and running and jumping into the stands to get a dead ball so the runner can't score.Melville wrote: ↑26 May 2025 08:59 amThe logic behind this rule is very similar to that of the infield fly rule.sikeston bulldog2 wrote: ↑26 May 2025 08:30 amLet’s look at it another way. Let’s say the rule says after the catch dead ball period. Then the runners beef would be- hey we could have tagged up? I see their side.12xu wrote: ↑26 May 2025 08:25 am This was a tremendous play which obviously helped the Cardinals win the game. He risked serious injury to make the play and even remained in the game.
My beef is with the ruling which made it automatic that the Arizona baserunners on 1st and 2nd advanced one base. The rule is this:
A fielder, after catching a fly ball, falls into dead-ball territory [ 5.06(b)(3)(C) ]. In this scenario, a fielder having made a legal catch while in live-ball territory, is carried into dead-ball territory, where he then falls, or falls over a fence or railing into dead-ball territory. The ball is dead and all base runners advance one base. However, the catch is good and the out stands, so long as the catch was made before the player stepped or fell into dead-ball territory.
Important: Normally, we'd include here a note about "catch-and-carry." However, in 2016, Major League Baseball amended the rule, such that catch-and-carry no longer exists. Any live ball that is carried into dead ball territory is now considered a dead ball and runners advance one base. Rule 5.06(b)(3)(C) Comment reads: "If a fielder, after having made a legal catch, should step or fall into any out-of-play area, the ball is dead and each runner shall advance one base, without liability to be put out, from his last legally touched base at the time the fielder entered such out-of-play area."
IMO this rule should be amended again, to benefit the fielder who makes the catch, that if said fielder is able to make a throw from the stands which prevents the runners from advancing, it should be allowable. Seems unfair to me, that the fielder making a spectacular play as Arenado did yesterday, is somewhat penalized by the runners advancing by rule. They should have to tag up and advance at their own risk, IMO. Now, if the fielder who catches the ball cannot return the ball into the field of play due to injury or restricted by objects in the stands or a fan, then one base only should be awarded to the baserunners.
Also, if allowed to make a play from the dead ball area, I think injury would become a factor.
I see both sides so far.
It prevents a defensive player from intentionally creating a scenario which could unfairly disadvantage a base runner.
Re: Foul pop up caught by Arenado yesterday
You drop the ball.ggnoobs wrote: ↑26 May 2025 10:32 amYeah, imagine a situation where there's a runner on third and chance for walk off sac fly. Fly ball to left field, I am catching it and running and jumping into the stands to get a dead ball so the runner can't score.Melville wrote: ↑26 May 2025 08:59 amThe logic behind this rule is very similar to that of the infield fly rule.sikeston bulldog2 wrote: ↑26 May 2025 08:30 amLet’s look at it another way. Let’s say the rule says after the catch dead ball period. Then the runners beef would be- hey we could have tagged up? I see their side.12xu wrote: ↑26 May 2025 08:25 am This was a tremendous play which obviously helped the Cardinals win the game. He risked serious injury to make the play and even remained in the game.
My beef is with the ruling which made it automatic that the Arizona baserunners on 1st and 2nd advanced one base. The rule is this:
A fielder, after catching a fly ball, falls into dead-ball territory [ 5.06(b)(3)(C) ]. In this scenario, a fielder having made a legal catch while in live-ball territory, is carried into dead-ball territory, where he then falls, or falls over a fence or railing into dead-ball territory. The ball is dead and all base runners advance one base. However, the catch is good and the out stands, so long as the catch was made before the player stepped or fell into dead-ball territory.
Important: Normally, we'd include here a note about "catch-and-carry." However, in 2016, Major League Baseball amended the rule, such that catch-and-carry no longer exists. Any live ball that is carried into dead ball territory is now considered a dead ball and runners advance one base. Rule 5.06(b)(3)(C) Comment reads: "If a fielder, after having made a legal catch, should step or fall into any out-of-play area, the ball is dead and each runner shall advance one base, without liability to be put out, from his last legally touched base at the time the fielder entered such out-of-play area."
IMO this rule should be amended again, to benefit the fielder who makes the catch, that if said fielder is able to make a throw from the stands which prevents the runners from advancing, it should be allowable. Seems unfair to me, that the fielder making a spectacular play as Arenado did yesterday, is somewhat penalized by the runners advancing by rule. They should have to tag up and advance at their own risk, IMO. Now, if the fielder who catches the ball cannot return the ball into the field of play due to injury or restricted by objects in the stands or a fan, then one base only should be awarded to the baserunners.
Also, if allowed to make a play from the dead ball area, I think injury would become a factor.
I see both sides so far.
It prevents a defensive player from intentionally creating a scenario which could unfairly disadvantage a base runner.
Re: Foul pop up caught by Arenado yesterday
It does give away 90 feet on an out
without earning those 90 feet. I see it less back
and white on the infield. The runner wouldn't have
got to 3B on this play. It would have been the tying run
if he was already on 3rd.
Make those nets a little tighter on the infield, it doesn't happen.
Re: Foul pop up caught by Arenado yesterday
Which is exactly why the infield fly rule does not allow the fielder to do so.thetank2 wrote: ↑26 May 2025 10:34 amYou drop the ball.ggnoobs wrote: ↑26 May 2025 10:32 amYeah, imagine a situation where there's a runner on third and chance for walk off sac fly. Fly ball to left field, I am catching it and running and jumping into the stands to get a dead ball so the runner can't score.Melville wrote: ↑26 May 2025 08:59 amThe logic behind this rule is very similar to that of the infield fly rule.sikeston bulldog2 wrote: ↑26 May 2025 08:30 amLet’s look at it another way. Let’s say the rule says after the catch dead ball period. Then the runners beef would be- hey we could have tagged up? I see their side.12xu wrote: ↑26 May 2025 08:25 am This was a tremendous play which obviously helped the Cardinals win the game. He risked serious injury to make the play and even remained in the game.
My beef is with the ruling which made it automatic that the Arizona baserunners on 1st and 2nd advanced one base. The rule is this:
A fielder, after catching a fly ball, falls into dead-ball territory [ 5.06(b)(3)(C) ]. In this scenario, a fielder having made a legal catch while in live-ball territory, is carried into dead-ball territory, where he then falls, or falls over a fence or railing into dead-ball territory. The ball is dead and all base runners advance one base. However, the catch is good and the out stands, so long as the catch was made before the player stepped or fell into dead-ball territory.
Important: Normally, we'd include here a note about "catch-and-carry." However, in 2016, Major League Baseball amended the rule, such that catch-and-carry no longer exists. Any live ball that is carried into dead ball territory is now considered a dead ball and runners advance one base. Rule 5.06(b)(3)(C) Comment reads: "If a fielder, after having made a legal catch, should step or fall into any out-of-play area, the ball is dead and each runner shall advance one base, without liability to be put out, from his last legally touched base at the time the fielder entered such out-of-play area."
IMO this rule should be amended again, to benefit the fielder who makes the catch, that if said fielder is able to make a throw from the stands which prevents the runners from advancing, it should be allowable. Seems unfair to me, that the fielder making a spectacular play as Arenado did yesterday, is somewhat penalized by the runners advancing by rule. They should have to tag up and advance at their own risk, IMO. Now, if the fielder who catches the ball cannot return the ball into the field of play due to injury or restricted by objects in the stands or a fan, then one base only should be awarded to the baserunners.
Also, if allowed to make a play from the dead ball area, I think injury would become a factor.
I see both sides so far.
It prevents a defensive player from intentionally creating a scenario which could unfairly disadvantage a base runner.
-
- Forum User
- Posts: 788
- Joined: 03 Jun 2024 08:57 am
Re: Foul pop up caught by Arenado yesterday
Can’t make a play on a runner from outside field of play
It’s that simple, player has to reestablish two feet in field of play to make a play on runner.
Correct call
It’s that simple, player has to reestablish two feet in field of play to make a play on runner.
Correct call
Re: Foul pop up caught by Arenado yesterday
I have no beef with the rule . At least the runners were not on 2nd & 3rd , can you imagine the runner on 3rd being awarded home and scoring a run on that play . OMG ! That would have been really an unruly crowd.
-
- Forum User
- Posts: 710
- Joined: 24 May 2024 12:48 pm
Re: Foul pop up caught by Arenado yesterday
Another reason why it has to be a dead ball so no plays are attempted.sikeston bulldog2 wrote: ↑26 May 2025 08:30 amLet’s look at it another way. Let’s say the rule says after the catch dead ball period. Then the runners beef would be- hey we could have tagged up? I see their side.12xu wrote: ↑26 May 2025 08:25 am This was a tremendous play which obviously helped the Cardinals win the game. He risked serious injury to make the play and even remained in the game.
My beef is with the ruling which made it automatic that the Arizona baserunners on 1st and 2nd advanced one base. The rule is this:
A fielder, after catching a fly ball, falls into dead-ball territory [ 5.06(b)(3)(C) ]. In this scenario, a fielder having made a legal catch while in live-ball territory, is carried into dead-ball territory, where he then falls, or falls over a fence or railing into dead-ball territory. The ball is dead and all base runners advance one base. However, the catch is good and the out stands, so long as the catch was made before the player stepped or fell into dead-ball territory.
Important: Normally, we'd include here a note about "catch-and-carry." However, in 2016, Major League Baseball amended the rule, such that catch-and-carry no longer exists. Any live ball that is carried into dead ball territory is now considered a dead ball and runners advance one base. Rule 5.06(b)(3)(C) Comment reads: "If a fielder, after having made a legal catch, should step or fall into any out-of-play area, the ball is dead and each runner shall advance one base, without liability to be put out, from his last legally touched base at the time the fielder entered such out-of-play area."
IMO this rule should be amended again, to benefit the fielder who makes the catch, that if said fielder is able to make a throw from the stands which prevents the runners from advancing, it should be allowable. Seems unfair to me, that the fielder making a spectacular play as Arenado did yesterday, is somewhat penalized by the runners advancing by rule. They should have to tag up and advance at their own risk, IMO. Now, if the fielder who catches the ball cannot return the ball into the field of play due to injury or restricted by objects in the stands or a fan, then one base only should be awarded to the baserunners.
Also, if allowed to make a play from the dead ball area, I think injury would become a factor.
I see both sides so far.
Let's say the right fielder catches a ball while running at the wall. Player falls in to stands, runner first tags up. Right fielder in trying to throw to second is interfered with by a 5 year old spectator, and his throw is off line. What's the call? Can't be fan interference because player is in their territory. Just would open up too many worms. Rule seems good how it is. Players need to find a way to stay in play.