I have a question for the baseball minds here.
Moderators: STLtoday Forum Moderators, Cards Talk Moderators
I have a question for the baseball minds here.
The situation of a the bases loaded and the batter taps the ball up the first base line. The pitcher gets to the ball and instead of throwing it to first he turns and chases the batter back toward home. Before the batter is tagged out the runner from third crosses the plate. Does the run score? I assumed it would be considered a force out but AI from a search said that it's considered a "tag" play and not a force out. It almost happened last night and it occurred to me that I really didn't know. So, experts here, let me know.
Re: I have a question for the baseball minds here.
I believe the run would count.CCard wrote: ↑02 Nov 2025 09:47 am The situation of a the bases loaded and the batter taps the ball up the first base line. The pitcher gets to the ball and instead of throwing it to first he turns and chases the batter back toward home. Before the batter is tagged out the runner from third crosses the plate. Does the run score? I assumed it would be considered a force out but AI from a search said that it's considered a "tag" play and not a force out. It almost happened last night and it occurred to me that I really didn't know. So, experts here, let me know.
Re: I have a question for the baseball minds here.
Something similar happened to our slow pitch softball team one time, and the umpire allowed the run to count.
I still believe he was wrong. To me, in a force play situation, if a runner does not reach their base regardless of a tag or the force out, the run should not count.
if someone can cite a rule that is different from my belief I would be interested to hear it.
I still believe he was wrong. To me, in a force play situation, if a runner does not reach their base regardless of a tag or the force out, the run should not count.
if someone can cite a rule that is different from my belief I would be interested to hear it.
-
sikeston bulldog2
- Forum User
- Posts: 14187
- Joined: 11 Aug 2023 16:20 pm
Re: I have a question for the baseball minds here.
I see your point. But once the runner crosses home, and the hitter is still not tagged out, the pitcher could still turn and throw to first, and the force out is enforced. No run.sp25 wrote: ↑02 Nov 2025 09:57 am Something similar happened to our slow pitch softball team one time, and the umpire allowed the run to count.
I still believe he was wrong. To me, in a force play situation, if a runner does not reach their base regardless of a tag or the force out, the run should not count.
if someone can cite a rule that is different from my belief I would be interested to hear it.
The debate here isn’t about crossing the plate before an out, but the means by which to get that out. I say he’s out.
-
Stlcardsblues
- Forum User
- Posts: 1045
- Joined: 23 May 2024 19:52 pm
Re: I have a question for the baseball minds here.
My understanding of the rule is the run counts.CCard wrote: ↑02 Nov 2025 09:47 am The situation of a the bases loaded and the batter taps the ball up the first base line. The pitcher gets to the ball and instead of throwing it to first he turns and chases the batter back toward home. Before the batter is tagged out the runner from third crosses the plate. Does the run score? I assumed it would be considered a force out but AI from a search said that it's considered a "tag" play and not a force out. It almost happened last night and it occurred to me that I really didn't know. So, experts here, let me know.
-
rockondlouie
- Forum User
- Posts: 13451
- Joined: 23 May 2024 12:41 pm
Re: I have a question for the baseball minds here.
The hitter/runner would be automatically out if he retreats back towards home plate, he's not allowed to do that.CCard wrote: ↑02 Nov 2025 09:47 am The situation of a the bases loaded and the batter taps the ball up the first base line. The pitcher gets to the ball and instead of throwing it to first he turns and chases the batter back toward home. Before the batter is tagged out the runner from third crosses the plate. Does the run score? I assumed it would be considered a force out but AI from a search said that it's considered a "tag" play and not a force out. It almost happened last night and it occurred to me that I really didn't know. So, experts here, let me know.
No run if the hitter who retreated back towards home plate is the third out.
Re: I have a question for the baseball minds here.
I don't agree with that. If the run scores before the out I believe the run counts.rockondlouie wrote: ↑02 Nov 2025 10:22 amThe hitter/runner would be automatically out if he retreats back towards home plate, he's not allowed to do that.CCard wrote: ↑02 Nov 2025 09:47 am The situation of a the bases loaded and the batter taps the ball up the first base line. The pitcher gets to the ball and instead of throwing it to first he turns and chases the batter back toward home. Before the batter is tagged out the runner from third crosses the plate. Does the run score? I assumed it would be considered a force out but AI from a search said that it's considered a "tag" play and not a force out. It almost happened last night and it occurred to me that I really didn't know. So, experts here, let me know.
No run if the hitter who retreated back towards home plate is the third out.
Example: the run will count if the runner crossed the plate before the out was recorded. For example, on April 28, 2007, the Indians recorded a double play by catching a fly ball and catching the runner off first base. The runner from third base had already crossed the plate (after tagging up properly), so the run counted.
I also remember a similar play in a Cardinals game years ago.
-
rockondlouie
- Forum User
- Posts: 13451
- Joined: 23 May 2024 12:41 pm
Re: I have a question for the baseball minds here.
Not if it's the 3rd out of the inning OROldRed wrote: ↑02 Nov 2025 10:33 amI don't agree with that. If the run scores before the out I believe the run counts.rockondlouie wrote: ↑02 Nov 2025 10:22 amThe hitter/runner would be automatically out if he retreats back towards home plate, he's not allowed to do that.CCard wrote: ↑02 Nov 2025 09:47 am The situation of a the bases loaded and the batter taps the ball up the first base line. The pitcher gets to the ball and instead of throwing it to first he turns and chases the batter back toward home. Before the batter is tagged out the runner from third crosses the plate. Does the run score? I assumed it would be considered a force out but AI from a search said that it's considered a "tag" play and not a force out. It almost happened last night and it occurred to me that I really didn't know. So, experts here, let me know.
No run if the hitter who retreated back towards home plate is the third out.
Example: the run will count if the runner crossed the plate before the out was recorded. For example, on April 28, 2007, the Indians recorded a double play by catching a fly ball and catching the runner off first base. The runner from third base had already crossed the plate (after tagging up properly), so the run counted.
I also remember a similar play in a Cardinals game years ago.
Of course the runs counts if it's only the 1st or 2nd out, but NOT if it's the 3rd out.
The rule is pretty simple, a runner can NOT RETREAT back towards home plate after hitting the ball.
If he does, he's immediately ruled out and the run is not allowed.
Re: I have a question for the baseball minds here.
Play: With two out and one on (R2) in the top of the 3rd inning of the Cubs-Pirates game, batter Baez hit a 0-2 fastball from Pirates pitcher Tyler Anderson on the ground to third baseman Erik Gonzalez, who threw to first baseman Will Craig as baserunner R2 Contreras ran toward and rounded third base. When Craig stepped off of first base and down the line toward home plate to receive Gonzalez's throw, batter-runner Baez began retreating toward home plate with Craig in pursuit and Contreras still advancing toward home as well. Baez and Contreras arrived at the dirt circle surrounding home plate at around the same time, and Craig opted to throw to catcher Michael Perez to attempt to retire Contreras, whom Additon declared safe. Perez then threw wildly to first base and Baez took second base on the fielder's choice + error.rockondlouie wrote: ↑02 Nov 2025 10:35 amNot if it's the 3rd out of the inning OROldRed wrote: ↑02 Nov 2025 10:33 amI don't agree with that. If the run scores before the out I believe the run counts.rockondlouie wrote: ↑02 Nov 2025 10:22 amThe hitter/runner would be automatically out if he retreats back towards home plate, he's not allowed to do that.CCard wrote: ↑02 Nov 2025 09:47 am The situation of a the bases loaded and the batter taps the ball up the first base line. The pitcher gets to the ball and instead of throwing it to first he turns and chases the batter back toward home. Before the batter is tagged out the runner from third crosses the plate. Does the run score? I assumed it would be considered a force out but AI from a search said that it's considered a "tag" play and not a force out. It almost happened last night and it occurred to me that I really didn't know. So, experts here, let me know.
No run if the hitter who retreated back towards home plate is the third out.
Example: the run will count if the runner crossed the plate before the out was recorded. For example, on April 28, 2007, the Indians recorded a double play by catching a fly ball and catching the runner off first base. The runner from third base had already crossed the plate (after tagging up properly), so the run counted.
I also remember a similar play in a Cardinals game years ago.
Of course the runs counts if it's only the 1st or 2nd out, but NOT if it's the 3rd out.
The rule is pretty simple, a runner can NOT RETREAT back towards home plate after hitting the ball.
If he does, he's immediately ruled out and the run is not allowed.
-
sikeston bulldog2
- Forum User
- Posts: 14187
- Joined: 11 Aug 2023 16:20 pm
Re: I have a question for the baseball minds here.
Not a good example.OldRed wrote: ↑02 Nov 2025 10:33 amI don't agree with that. If the run scores before the out I believe the run counts.rockondlouie wrote: ↑02 Nov 2025 10:22 amThe hitter/runner would be automatically out if he retreats back towards home plate, he's not allowed to do that.CCard wrote: ↑02 Nov 2025 09:47 am The situation of a the bases loaded and the batter taps the ball up the first base line. The pitcher gets to the ball and instead of throwing it to first he turns and chases the batter back toward home. Before the batter is tagged out the runner from third crosses the plate. Does the run score? I assumed it would be considered a force out but AI from a search said that it's considered a "tag" play and not a force out. It almost happened last night and it occurred to me that I really didn't know. So, experts here, let me know.
No run if the hitter who retreated back towards home plate is the third out.
Example: the run will count if the runner crossed the plate before the out was recorded. For example, on April 28, 2007, the Indians recorded a double play by catching a fly ball and catching the runner off first base. The runner from third base had already crossed the plate (after tagging up properly), so the run counted.
I also remember a similar play in a Cardinals game years ago.
A force out is a force out. A put out at first as the third out carries the same result. The hitter is forced to move to another base. The way or time he is put out I not relative to the play.
That’s my position. Out.
Re: I have a question for the baseball minds here.
sikeston bulldog2 wrote: ↑02 Nov 2025 10:40 amNot a good example.OldRed wrote: ↑02 Nov 2025 10:33 amI don't agree with that. If the run scores before the out I believe the run counts.rockondlouie wrote: ↑02 Nov 2025 10:22 amThe hitter/runner would be automatically out if he retreats back towards home plate, he's not allowed to do that.CCard wrote: ↑02 Nov 2025 09:47 am The situation of a the bases loaded and the batter taps the ball up the first base line. The pitcher gets to the ball and instead of throwing it to first he turns and chases the batter back toward home. Before the batter is tagged out the runner from third crosses the plate. Does the run score? I assumed it would be considered a force out but AI from a search said that it's considered a "tag" play and not a force out. It almost happened last night and it occurred to me that I really didn't know. So, experts here, let me know.
No run if the hitter who retreated back towards home plate is the third out.
Example: the run will count if the runner crossed the plate before the out was recorded. For example, on April 28, 2007, the Indians recorded a double play by catching a fly ball and catching the runner off first base. The runner from third base had already crossed the plate (after tagging up properly), so the run counted.
I also remember a similar play in a Cardinals game years ago.
A force out is a force out. A put out at first as the third out carries the same result. The hitter is forced to move to another base. The way or time he is put out I not relative to the play.
That’s my position. Out.
Please read my last posts on the subject.
Re: I have a question for the baseball minds here.
The run would not count.CCard wrote: ↑02 Nov 2025 09:47 am The situation of a the bases loaded and the batter taps the ball up the first base line. The pitcher gets to the ball and instead of throwing it to first he turns and chases the batter back toward home. Before the batter is tagged out the runner from third crosses the plate. Does the run score? I assumed it would be considered a force out but AI from a search said that it's considered a "tag" play and not a force out. It almost happened last night and it occurred to me that I really didn't know. So, experts here, let me know.
The tag attempt - successful or not -does not negate the fact that it was a force out situation and the batter would be out for failing to touch first base.
The "time play" exception would therefore not apply.
-
sikeston bulldog2
- Forum User
- Posts: 14187
- Joined: 11 Aug 2023 16:20 pm
Re: I have a question for the baseball minds here.
I did. I still don’t understand.OldRed wrote: ↑02 Nov 2025 10:43 amsikeston bulldog2 wrote: ↑02 Nov 2025 10:40 amNot a good example.OldRed wrote: ↑02 Nov 2025 10:33 amI don't agree with that. If the run scores before the out I believe the run counts.rockondlouie wrote: ↑02 Nov 2025 10:22 amThe hitter/runner would be automatically out if he retreats back towards home plate, he's not allowed to do that.CCard wrote: ↑02 Nov 2025 09:47 am The situation of a the bases loaded and the batter taps the ball up the first base line. The pitcher gets to the ball and instead of throwing it to first he turns and chases the batter back toward home. Before the batter is tagged out the runner from third crosses the plate. Does the run score? I assumed it would be considered a force out but AI from a search said that it's considered a "tag" play and not a force out. It almost happened last night and it occurred to me that I really didn't know. So, experts here, let me know.
No run if the hitter who retreated back towards home plate is the third out.
Example: the run will count if the runner crossed the plate before the out was recorded. For example, on April 28, 2007, the Indians recorded a double play by catching a fly ball and catching the runner off first base. The runner from third base had already crossed the plate (after tagging up properly), so the run counted.
I also remember a similar play in a Cardinals game years ago.
A force out is a force out. A put out at first as the third out carries the same result. The hitter is forced to move to another base. The way or time he is put out I not relative to the play.
That’s my position. Out.
Please read my last posts on the subject.
-
CorneliusWolfe
- Forum User
- Posts: 1285
- Joined: 02 May 2025 19:12 pm
Re: I have a question for the baseball minds here.
That’s what I was wondering. Why would the batter retreat, or the pitcher chase him no less, back towards home plate? Maybe I’m envisioning the scenario incorrectly. Is it a case where the pitcher fields the ball close to the batter and quickly reaches for a tag and the runner jumps back a little or something?rockondlouie wrote: ↑02 Nov 2025 10:22 amThe hitter/runner would be automatically out if he retreats back towards home plate, he's not allowed to do that.CCard wrote: ↑02 Nov 2025 09:47 am The situation of a the bases loaded and the batter taps the ball up the first base line. The pitcher gets to the ball and instead of throwing it to first he turns and chases the batter back toward home. Before the batter is tagged out the runner from third crosses the plate. Does the run score? I assumed it would be considered a force out but AI from a search said that it's considered a "tag" play and not a force out. It almost happened last night and it occurred to me that I really didn't know. So, experts here, let me know.
No run if the hitter who retreated back towards home plate is the third out.
-
rockondlouie
- Forum User
- Posts: 13451
- Joined: 23 May 2024 12:41 pm
Re: I have a question for the baseball minds here.
Different scenario.OldRed wrote: ↑02 Nov 2025 10:39 amPlay: With two out and one on (R2) in the top of the 3rd inning of the Cubs-Pirates game, batter Baez hit a 0-2 fastball from Pirates pitcher Tyler Anderson on the ground to third baseman Erik Gonzalez, who threw to first baseman Will Craig as baserunner R2 Contreras ran toward and rounded third base. When Craig stepped off of first base and down the line toward home plate to receive Gonzalez's throw, batter-runner Baez began retreating toward home plate with Craig in pursuit and Contreras still advancing toward home as well. Baez and Contreras arrived at the dirt circle surrounding home plate at around the same time, and Craig opted to throw to catcher Michael Perez to attempt to retire Contreras, whom Additon declared safe. Perez then threw wildly to first base and Baez took second base on the fielder's choice + error.rockondlouie wrote: ↑02 Nov 2025 10:35 amNot if it's the 3rd out of the inning OROldRed wrote: ↑02 Nov 2025 10:33 amI don't agree with that. If the run scores before the out I believe the run counts.rockondlouie wrote: ↑02 Nov 2025 10:22 amThe hitter/runner would be automatically out if he retreats back towards home plate, he's not allowed to do that.CCard wrote: ↑02 Nov 2025 09:47 am The situation of a the bases loaded and the batter taps the ball up the first base line. The pitcher gets to the ball and instead of throwing it to first he turns and chases the batter back toward home. Before the batter is tagged out the runner from third crosses the plate. Does the run score? I assumed it would be considered a force out but AI from a search said that it's considered a "tag" play and not a force out. It almost happened last night and it occurred to me that I really didn't know. So, experts here, let me know.
No run if the hitter who retreated back towards home plate is the third out.
Example: the run will count if the runner crossed the plate before the out was recorded. For example, on April 28, 2007, the Indians recorded a double play by catching a fly ball and catching the runner off first base. The runner from third base had already crossed the plate (after tagging up properly), so the run counted.
I also remember a similar play in a Cardinals game years ago.
Of course the runs counts if it's only the 1st or 2nd out, but NOT if it's the 3rd out.
The rule is pretty simple, a runner can NOT RETREAT back towards home plate after hitting the ball.
If he does, he's immediately ruled out and the run is not allowed.
In the original post once the hitter becomes a baserunner he's NOT ALLOWED to retreat back toward home plate and is automatically out.
But I could be wrong, maybe he can retreat.........now I'm confussed.
Last edited by rockondlouie on 02 Nov 2025 10:54 am, edited 1 time in total.
Re: I have a question for the baseball minds here.
You are wrong again.Melville wrote: ↑02 Nov 2025 10:47 amThe run would not count.CCard wrote: ↑02 Nov 2025 09:47 am The situation of a the bases loaded and the batter taps the ball up the first base line. The pitcher gets to the ball and instead of throwing it to first he turns and chases the batter back toward home. Before the batter is tagged out the runner from third crosses the plate. Does the run score? I assumed it would be considered a force out but AI from a search said that it's considered a "tag" play and not a force out. It almost happened last night and it occurred to me that I really didn't know. So, experts here, let me know.
The tag attempt - successful or not -does not negate the fact that it was a force out situation and the batter would be out for failing to touch first base.
The "time play" exception would therefore not apply.